iPad Purchase Experience

I’ve had my iPad for a few weeks … not quite ready to do a full review, but I wanted to share the purchase experience …

I wasn’t about to wait in line on the first day the 3G version went on sale. I tried to order from Apple’s web site, but it wouldn’t estimate a ship date … so, a few days after the launch, I checked in at an Apple retail store: their advice for the quickest order was to get on a waiting list at the store.  I was told that as soon as a 3G unit arrived, I’d be sent an e-mail and would have to be in the store within 24 hours, or the iPad would go to the next person on the waiting list.  After about 3 weeks of waiting, I took a 3-day trip to New Orleans.  Of course, my e-mail arrived while I was in New Orleans, and it would be impossible to get back to Houston in time to pick it up.  I called the store and was told the process was completely automated, if I didn’t arrive on time, the device would go to the next person. However, they put me in touch with a distribution manager, who promised to hold my unit until the next day, giving me enough time to get back to Houston.  Sure enough, they held it for me!  I did learn a lesson though … next time, I’m just going to order from Apple.com and have a guaranteed delivery!

Leave a Reply

